Thrifting for Photography

This weekend, my friend and I decided to go thrift shopping. She was on the lookout for a desk, and I was on the lookout for anything I could craft with, or anything to help improve my photography. I take a lot of pictures of food, and although our table is vintage and has recently come back into style so it makes a cute background, our plates are just old. Seriously, whenever I post a food picture, someone has to comment about how their grandma used to use those plates.

IMG_1172.JPG

This is the plate we most often use for meals. It was my grandparents’ plate, and as far as I know, they’ve had it for longer than I’m alive.

That’s why I was so excited to see a deal at the thrift store we went to. You could get three coffee mugs for 99 cents- an awesome deal since I collect coffee mugs- or three plates, bowls, or saucers for $1.99.

IMG_1284.JPG

This was the first thing I spotted. After this green bowl came into my view, I knew I was going to have to buy it. J makes a lot of soups, chilis, and stews in the winter. The bowls we have now are awesome to eat out of, and pretty nostalgic, but they photograph horribly. So this was calling my name.

IMG_1282.JPG

Next, I spotted this striped plate hidden under a pile of other plates. It’s pretty and graphic, and I really think food will pop on it.

IMG_1283.JPG

Finally, I grabbed this tiny white saucer. It’s a lot like the ones we used at my wedding, so half my love for it was sentimental, but seriously, it was cute and I could spare a few cents on it.

IMG_1165.JPG

Since cute dinnerware is half the battle of good food photography, I’m pretty impressed with what I got for two dollars. I wish I had found a cute mug, but alas, I think I’m stuck with my kitty mug for now.

IMG_1263-0.JPG

You know what? Actually, I think I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

