Apps for Cats.

My cats have always been fascinated by my cell phone. When there’s music playing from it or it’s ringing, they think it’s their mission in life to find the source of the noise and destroy it. If I’m playing Tetris or writing a blog post instead of paying attention to them, they also think it’s their mission in life to destroy the thing taking away mommy’s attention. They’re a little spoiled.

IMG_0858.JPG

Not too long ago, as an experiment, I searched “cat app” in the App Store. The first one that popped up was “Cat Fishing 2” by Purina. It’s a free app that has fish moving around on screen and bubble noises to attract your cat’s attention. The fish start off slow, but your cat can “level up” and the fish will move faster.

IMG_0866.JPG

Sorry for the bad pictures, but the lighting in our house is from the fifties and doesn’t seem to work well for cat photography. Anyway, this is one of our kittens, Echo. Echo is obsessed with the little fish on the cell phone screen.

IMG_0878.JPG

In fact, he’s decided that he doesn’t have to wait for me to actually turn the app on. If my cell phone is out, he will pick it up by the case and drag it around until I get it away from him and turn on Cat Fishing.

IMG_0879.JPG

Not all of my cats are interested in the app, but 3 out of 5 love it. For cats, that’s a pretty good ratio, especially since one of our cats has no interest in anything that she can’t eat.

For a free app, it offers everything my cats and I could wish for, and hours of fun. I definitely recommend at least trying it out if you have kitties- but buy a screen protector first.

3 thoughts on “Apps for Cats.

Leave a Reply

