My love language

I always joke that my love language is food. Seriously, you know the saying “the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach”? The way to my heart is definitely through my stomach. My idea of affection is someone making me cookies, then leaving me alone to eat them. That’s pretty weird for an extrovert, I’ve been told, but it’s the one sure way to woo me.

IMG_0829.JPG

That’s an earl grey, three sugars, with milk. The best way to calm me down when I’m stressed. The best way to cheer me up after a long hard month? A fancy dinner.

IMG_0850.JPG

So, since my love language is food- whether it’s making it for people or eating it myself- and my husband’s language of affection is doing small things for people or doing activities together. So we’ve figured out a pretty great way to strengthen our relationship, other than our weekly date out.

IMG_0376.JPG

Once a week, J and I have a nice steak dinner. He does most of the cooking, because he enjoys it, and I help out by pouring drinks, prepping the broccoli, and setting the table. The time in the kitchen together is an awesome way for us both to unwind and reconnect, and the resulting meal is always one of the things we both look forward to the most each week. In fact, our favorite part of grocery shopping together is looking for new ingredients for our favorite side dishes!

IMG_0847.JPG

Since I’m sick and he’s busy, it’s hard for us to plan huge outings or weekend trips. However, that doesn’t give us an excuse to get complacent in our relationship. Our weekly steak dinner is our solution. Shopping at Aldi makes this affordable, especially since there’s only two of us, but the menu isn’t what’s important. It’s the act of cooking together, for each other, and enjoying each other’s company.

It’s really the little things that keep our relationship happy and strong.

2 thoughts on “My love language

Leave a Reply

