August Wrap-Up

I know it’s not August anymore- and trust me, I couldn’t be more happy about that- but I never got to post about what I’ve been reading over the past month, or any of the events that went down, so here goes.

August was a hectic, terrible month. Justin’s grandma passed away, then my cat passed away shortly after. The highlight of the month was an unexpected trip to St. Louis, when we got to see Justin’s family and visit a few of our favorite places.

IMG_0232.JPG

We hit up Sweet Art St. Louis, which has a fantastic gluten free cake, and Soulard Coffee Garden, which we had never been to before but loved. Gluten free diner style food? Perfect.

To offset the horribleness of the month, I started reading The Happiness Project. I’m in the process of starting my own Happiness Project and I highly recommend this book. I also spent the month looking forward to Heir of Fire, which came out yesterday. I’ll be posting a full review once I finish it, but suffice to say, I’m excited! I’ve read a lot of books about female assassins this year, but I haven’t fallen in love with them the way I fell in love with Throne of Glass. Seriously guys, these books are good. Celaena is smart, funny, feminine, and more than a little conceited. She’s a compelling heroine, with well-developed secondary characters to hang out with. I can’t wait to finish Heir of Fire and find out what happens next!

IMG_0664.JPG

Next on my list is Bright Young Things, which was advertised to me as “a Great Gatsby YA rewrite, but with lesbians.” I’ve been in and out of this book, just because I’ve been having trouble reading thanks to stress. However, from what I’ve read, the writing is solid and the characters are fully-fleshed and sympathetic. I definitely want to see where it goes and read the sequel.

IMG_0656.JPG

The next book I’m excited for is Winter in the Cinder series, but I still have to wait a while for it. I’m hoping that my a Oyster subscription and Kindle Unlimited subscription will keep me reading in the downtime between series.

One thought on “August Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

