Zoodles

I’ve spent the summer wondering just what zoodles are, anyway. I’ve seen them on twitter, on Instagram, and on Pinterest for months now. It turns out zoodles are zucchini used as pasta. It also turns out you can use crookneck squash for noodles as well. I’m an adventurous eater, but zoodles weren’t really on my radar. Well, they weren’t on my radar until Aldi ran a great sale on produce. I went a little zucchini crazy and wound up with more summer squashes than I knew what to do with. There was only one solution to this problem: zoodles.

IMG_0619.JPG

Now, all of the pretty zoodles you see online are made with a spiralizer. I can’t afford one of those gadgets, so I might have made mine with a cheese grater instead. I used the side with the three big holes. I grated the squash, patted them dry with a paper towel, and dunked them in salty boiling water for two minutes.

IMG_0626.JPG

The verdict: delicious, even if they’re not as pretty as I hoped. My husband immediately asked if he could take the leftovers to work with him as a change from his normal junky snacks. (He can still eat gluten, and does very often when he’s away from me.)

IMG_0638.JPG

With my homemade tomato sauce, it was a nice healthy change up! I’ve been sick for the past month with a POTS flare, so my diet has mainly consisted of milkshakes, tea, and powerade. This was the first thing I’ve really been able to eat in a while and I’m glad I tried it. I guess the zoodle trend isn’t so weird after all!

Leave a Reply

