Convenience in the Kitchen

I like easy. I inherited this trait from my mom, who loves kitchen shortcuts. They all seem to work for her. I have fond memories of homemade egg rolls, curries, and pasta sauces that she whipped up with seeming ease. The same shortcuts and gadgets that she used with such success seem to be lost on me. I can burn brownies, break blenders, and ruin meals like nobody’s business. Because of this unlucky characteristic, my mom and husband have spent the past two years building me a “kitchen for dummies.” It has gadgets even I can use, and meals I can make even when my POTS is flaring and I can barely stand. So, what’s in my kitchen?

1. Pre-cut everything

I’m the worst about dislocating my fingers. Whether it’s from rampant texting, picking up kittens, or chopping vegetables, my hands are in a constant state of pain and dislocation. Because of this, I buy as many things pre-chopped and pre-shredded as possible.

IMG_0459-0.JPG

At best, the pre-chopped and pre-shredded foods become ingredients for a simple meal. At worst, I dip them in hummus and call it brunch. Yeah, I’m paying more for convenience, but it saves money on ER visits to get things shoved back into socket.

2. Green juices and Meal Replacements

Sometimes you can’t stand long enough to make a meal without passing out. Especially when it’s hot outside and opossums have chewed through the air conditioner wiring. On days like that, or on days when we have to rush out the door, meal replacement shakes and green juices come in handy. They keep my blood sugar from crashing until I can find some real food!

3. A rice cooker

Two rice cookers, in fact, because Target wouldn’t update our registry after people bought from it. Not to worry though, rice cookers come in handy. Not only can you make some perfect rice, there are plenty of other recipes you can try in them too!

4. A Keurig

Guess how many coffee making gadgets we have in our kitchen. Go ahead. I’ll wait.

If you guessed 10+, you’re correct. My husband and grandpa are coffee addicts, and my husband has tried just about every way to brew coffee that he could find. Me? I stick to my Keurig. Since I can’t have too much caffeine, I mostly use it to make tea and hot chocolate.

IMG_0289.JPG

A hot drink in 90 seconds? That’s what I’m talking about. Even I can handle that. (My Keurig was a gift from my mom and is probably one of the best kitchen gifts I’ve ever gotten.)

5. A Filter Pitcher

Better for the environment than bottled water, this is also a lot more convenient. No more late night runs for bottled water because your tap water tastes gross. No more wishing you had remembered to put your glass water bottle in the fridge after filling it, instead of setting it beside you and forgetting about it.

I have a lot more gadgets in my kitchen, but these are my top five. What’s in your kitchen?

Leave a Reply

