A Surprise Picnic

Sometimes the best laid plans go awry. That’s what happened today. My grandpa was admitted to the hospital yesterday, and everyone’s schedule has been off. I had plans with my friend, but we got delayed, and then the website we needed wasn’t working. Between me, my friend, and my husband, we were about to blow our tops.

However, a little ingenuity and a lot of homegrown tomatoes came to our rescue. We decided to have a picnic. My husband and friend did the cooking, and I did the decorating. I’ve inherited a talent for making photogenic place settings from my mother, who does it for a living on her lifestyle blog. Since my husband and I live with my grandpa, who can no longer live alone, I don’t get to use my talent often. He’s not appreciative of my efforts, and by the time we’ve listened to the local gossip channel blaring from the TV at full volume all day, I’m not feeling very creative.

Bouquet

Today, I picked some flowers from our yard and put them in an old spaghetti sauce jar, with it’s label removed.

Tea Cups

I pulled out the old tea cups I used to love to drink from.

IMG_8610

My husband made honey-limeade and I poured it into an old, giant mug I found.

Meal

I pulled out old plates and an old blanket, covered in whimsical florals. My husband made homemade spaghetti sauce and garlic bread- all gluten free, of course.

That sauce has housemade chorizo from a local Latino grocery!

IMG_8603

I even pulled out an old serving platter for our garlic bread and pesto.

IMG_8613

We all had a good time telling stories and de-stressing! It was nice to be able to spend time with my friend, who will be spending the next three weeks in Mexico for a class.

IMG_8616

Sometimes it’s the little things in life that make it good. Sometimes you just need to take a minute, do something spontaneous, and reduce those stress levels! Spending time outside in the beautiful weather with people I love, and good food, did just that.

2 thoughts on “A Surprise Picnic

  1. I love eating outside with my daughter. We sometimes will back up a picnic basket and walk right out to the yard and enjoy the outdoors. You’re right- it is the little things in life 🙂 I’m your newest follower and would love for you to check out my blog http://www.tairaxo.com i look forward to your visit.

Leave a Reply

