On Working From Home:

Working from home is not for everyone. In fact, it’s probably not even for me. I have horrible ADHD, and the lack of a real “boss” figure really gets to me sometimes. That’s why I find myself finishing my tasks at 11 p.m., despite having set several alarms telling me to quit playing Candy Crush Saga and get my butt in gear.

Besides my complete and total lack of self motivation, I used to love working with people. Sure, I would complain about that one lady who forced me to individually wrap 65 slices of cheese during my brief stint working in a deli- a stint which incidentally, made me incredibly sick and cranky from all the inhaled flour. But, money is money and medical bills are expensive, so you do what you gotta do, even if it does mean choking on your body’s worst poison while getting yelled at by someone who just really likes their cheese wrapped a certain way. I feel you, cranky old woman on senior discount day. Sometimes I get really upset about cheese too. Usually a lack of cheese. Like when I used the last bit of cheese on my gluten-free pizza earlier and now I’m really craving a Caprese salad. That does make me cranky.

Working

Sorry, got off topic there. Anyway, I work from home, despite the pros and cons of the position. There are plenty of pros: I wear my pajamas all day, I can eat on the job, and I don’t have to spend a lot of time standing up. My body hates standing up. The cons, other than I’ve listed above? I’m freelance, so I spend a lot of time without a steady income. I wear my pajamas all day, so if I get surprise visitors, they think I’m a slob.

Free-lance, you say? Free-lance what? I’ve styled myself as a Virtual Assistant. I’m on a looong list of other virtual assistants, fighting for jobs with popular bloggers, writing blogs like this in my spare time. Not that I get a ton of spare time, because besides my freelancing, I work for my mom in exchange for payment of my medical bills. I’m getting the better end of the deal here, because I don’t work enough to earn the thousands of dollars I cost yearly. Plus, I enjoy my job. I get to tweet, Facebook, and photograph things, along with traveling and sampling new food. That’s a pretty sweet deal on my end!

White Flowers

Although it’s fun, and I do love blogging, whether for money or for pleasure, I’d still love to rejoin the workforce one day. I’m banking on an appointment at Vanderbilt’s hospital on August 4 to let me do just that, but if not, I can make the best of this. Because at least I can snack.

 

Leave a Reply

