Centennial Park and CNN

While we were in Atlanta, we had the chance to visit the World of Coca-Cola. The World of Coca-Cola is incredibly cool, especially the room that has flavors of Coca-Cola from around the world. The only problem is, everyone else thinks World of Coca-Cola is just as cool as I do. So, the first time we tried to visit, there was a thirty minute wait to get tickets, and a two hour wait to get in the door.

I’m not good at standing in line, especially in the heat. In fact, I tend to get dizzy after just a few minutes in the heat. I tend to pass out after a few more minutes, and face-planting in the middle of a crowd of people is not really on my to-do list. Luckily, my family is great about taking my limitations in stride, and we decided to explore the area we were in and come back to the World of Coca-Cola the next day, at opening time.

IMG_8482

There are a lot of cool things to see near the Coca-Cola museum, including Centennial Park, which was designed as (basically) a tourist attraction and ode to the 1996 Atlanta Olympics. The coolest thing about Centennial Park- well, other than all the events that are held there- is seeing all the bricks with people’s names on them. When the park was being built, people had the chance to put their names or the names of loved ones onto bricks, that would then be displayed forever as the pavement.

I have a brick. I would not have a brick if my dad hadn’t won a contest, allowing him one brick with up to a certain number of characters. I was born then, and my brother wasn’t. So, guess who has their own personal brick? That’s right, little Brittany Nicole, who was too little for this to matter to at the time. Now, I always visit my brick when I’m in Atlanta, but back then, I couldn’t have cared less. I was like, three.

Cartoon

After visiting my brick, I was overheating, so we decided to walk a cross the street and visit the CNN building. My mom has been on a tour there, and got to ride the world’s tallest escalator. I haven’t yet, so no big news about any of their tours, shows, or reporters. I did, however, get to pose with a lot of weird props and characters in the CNN lobby.

The lobby is a huge food court and marketplace, selling many different types of fast food and all the CNN apparel you could ever need. Here, you can see CNN interns coming and going with their Subway sandwiches, along with plenty of tourists, like us.

IMG_8490

Next time we go back, I want to take the CNN tour instead of just posing beside a news Humvee, but there wasn’t time on this trip. (Side note: see how far back my knees go? I really should be wearing my knee braces, but they just don’t GO with the dress.)

If you do decide to visit Centennial Park, there’s a lot going on besides just CNN and my brick (which is pretty much a tourist attraction in its own right, especially if I ever get famous). Nearby, there’s a giant Ferris wheel, a Civil and Humans right museum, the Georgia Aquarium, and plenty of dining options. You can park nearby for just $8, which is a real bargain in downtown Atlanta. Use the $8 all day parking to check out several of the exhibits and grab dinner before heading back to your hotel! As long as you bring plenty of water and wear walking shoes, you should be good!

Can’t or don’t want to walk far? No problem! World of Coca-Cola has a parking garage immediately across from the entrance, which is also near the entrances of The Civil Rights museum and the Georgia Aquarium. The parking here is $10, but sometimes paying $2 extra is a small price to pay for not having to drag yourself around in the Atlanta heat.

 

One thought on “Centennial Park and CNN

Leave a Reply

