Sinoia, Georgia

If I had to describe myself visually, it would probably be a collage of cute desserts and nautical motifs. Luckily, no one has ever asked me to make an autobiographical artwork that was anything other than a self portrait, so this has never been an issue. However, sometimes I manage to capture a photograph that so perfectly describes my personality that I have to share it. Here’s a shot from this weekend, while I was visiting Sinoia, Georgia. There are several French markets and a bakery in town, which is where I procured the macarons! (They were delicious, by the way.)

securedownload (7)

Cute, gluten-free desserts and an anchor skirt- what more could you ask for? Well, you could probably ask about a lot, especially since I was visiting the filming location of many famous movies and TV shows. One of the shows you might know of is The Walking Dead.

I’ll be honest here- I’m not a zombie fan. I have only seen one episode of the show, and it was gory enough to give me some weird nightmares. That’s why I had no clue why it was important to sit in this cell, below, which is one of the actual cells used on the set of whichever season of The Walking Dead was set in a prison.

10544347_10203311394339010_8645026131868312540_n

I guess that’s cool, right? Am I cultured yet?

If, like me, you’re not into the whole zombie aesthetic, the town was also known for it’s visibility in Fried Green Tomatoes, one of my favorite movies. Unfortunately our tour bus was moving rather fast so I didn’t get any pictures of the famous bride and railroad tracks from the movie! Did you know the same bridge and railroad tracks that were used in Fried Green Tomatoes were used in the tunnel fight scenes in The Walking Dead? I certainly didn’t!

The whole trip was part of my Mom’s blogging stuff- she has to write about the trip for Wyndham hotels, who planned and paid for it. I was just lucky enough to tag along so I could take pictures, tweet, and Instagram for her while she was taking notes or what have you.

2 thoughts on “Sinoia, Georgia

Leave a Reply

