Book Blogging:

I read pretty much constantly. It’s one of the few things I can do even when I’m bedbound, and it’s been one of my favorite hobbies since I was a child. Both fortunately and unfortunately,  I am a bit of a speedreader. Ever since I learned to read, a lot of my money has gone into buying books.

I’ve been wishing for years that there was a sort of netflix for books, other than the library. Because of joint issues, holding a bulky book for a long period of time- like, more than ten minutes- isn’t an option anymore. I do a lot of ebook reading, and my library is way behind the times. We don’t have the capability to check out ebooks yet! Awful, right? Practically the stone age over here.

image

Well, guess what’s happened lately? Not one, but TWO major ebook subscription services have popped up. For the interest of science, I’ve decided to try the free trial of both. In a month, I’ll pick between the two: Oyster and Scribd.

Right now, I’m leaning towards Oyster, pictured, for sheer usability. I love the interface, and there are a ton of books I’ve been dying to read. Scribd, on the other hand, has even more books I want to read, but I’m less impressed with the user interface. They’re both well developed so far, and constantly adding new books.

At the end of the month, I’ll report back with which one I ended up keeping and why! However, I’ve heard that Amazon is thinking of starting an ebook subscription service, and I love my Kindle, so if they do…well, the answer may be neither.

Have you tried an ebook subscription service yet? Did you like it?

Leave a Reply

