My Weekly Discovery:

Discovery of the week: If you’re a member of Amazon Prime, you can check out a book a month from their Kindle Lending Library for free. There aren’t a lot of new or big ticket books on the list of books you can check out, but I did see that The Hunger Games series was available. I picked up “Gilded,” a story based in Korean myth with a modern twist. Gilded wasn’t the best book I’ve ever read, but it was a free read, and perfectly filled this sunny afternoon. I saw many more light reads among the lending library, as well as educational texts, and the odd cookbook. One book a month is not a lot for me, but since I already use all the other features of Amazon Prime, it’s definitely a nice perk to have. 

Image Of course, using the lending library means having to switch over to J’s Kindle instead of reading on my trusty Kobo, and it’s definitely an adjustment. For one, the Kindle is not a touchscreen, which I didn’t realize until I had passed several minutes determinedly swiping an unresponsive page.

I’m pretty sure I’m the only person who subscribes to Amazon Prime who didn’t know about this perk, but I’m pretty happy with my discovery. It’s going right up there with the First Look bonus on the Kindle and the Cheap Reads section of my Kobo and Samsung Galaxy Tab. (Yes, I have three different eReaders. Judge me, I know you want to.) I can’t wait for our local libraries to make ebooks available to check out. Unfortunately, the libraries in my state are severely underfunded, so I’m not sure when/if this will actually happen, but it would make my life so much easier. If you’re in Chattanooga, however, the Chattanooga library system has ebook lending available now! 

Have you found any good books in the Amazon Lending Library? Does your library have ebook lending?

 

2 thoughts on “My Weekly Discovery:

  1. My library in my small home town allows you to borrow e-books but not the city library near where I now live. Strange indeed. I love not having to buy e-books though.

Leave a Reply

