Aside

My mom has been my biggest supporter since going gluten free. She’s tried my fake breads, suffered through my trial and error with corn pasta, and always tries to make sure I have at least something gluten free to eat whenever I visit her. She also keeps her house stocked with water for me to hydrate with while I’m visiting, even though she’d much rather be sipping Diet Mountain Dew. Today, when I called her in hysterics because I’d ruined the can soup I had spent hours saving the energy to make, she whipped up some corn pasta and pesto without thinking twice. This isn’t just a mom appreciation post, although I could go on for a while about how great and supportive she is. My mom also has a blog, and she shares her gluten free creations- the ones that turn out well, at least- and I’m going to share a few of them with you.

Toffee Almond Fudge (Remove almonds and it is also nut free.)
Chocolate Peanut Butter Bread (can substitute chocolate almond butter/almond cups for peanut allergy)
Mexican Corn Bread
Butternut Squash Soup (substitute veggie broth for beef broth to make vegetarian)

If you like these, check out her blog The Thrifty Things for more.

Do you adapt normal recipes to be gluten free, or do you make naturally gluten free recipes? Do you have a supportive family?

Leave a Reply

